Home

OK, so here we are, in possibly the nicest week of the year, not too cold, not too hot, and what am I doing, sitting at work all day. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t like working most of the time, but when it’s so nice out, it makes it that more miserable. So, instead I try to forget it’s nice out, and just get through it. But, hope arrives this weekend with a three day weekend, what are your plans for the holiday? I’m gonna try to get some sleep and fun in the sun. Oh, and I might have some familial visitors! Cool beans! Reviews, then?

Ben Folds Presents: University A Capella – *** – A really cool record. All the groups do a great job of arranging the songs, and it brings a freshness to the songs as well. It’s great to just get a refresher of some of Ben Folds best songs.

Chester French – Love The Future – *** – I had heard the leaked version of this last year, but this had some new songs and a new order. I think this holds together more as an album, and the nice orchestral arrangements throughout give it a nice feel. You get the feeling that maybe they are a bit overambitious, but it has an interesting charm.

Spongetones – Scrambled Eggs – *** – This album carries on what the Spongetones have been up to the past few records. Just solid pop with a good feel. Keep it up!

John Mulaney – The Top Part – *** – Great comedy CD from this guy. While very similar to Mike Birbiglia, he offers his own charm and perspective. His strength is building scenes that quickly expose the holes evident in our culture (things like Law & Order, The Bible, and Bar Culture are ripe for the funning).

I Was A King – I Was A King – *** – Good album, if a bit uneven. Great jangly indie pop sound. I suppose it’s more about the mood of the songs rather than super catchy refrains, etc. It is a lovely album to listen to.

Leave a comment